PART IV

THE UNIVERSITY SENATE (UNIVERSITY SYSTEM)

The University Senate shall be composed of faculty, emeriti faculty, student and <u>ex officio</u> members.

The faculty members shall number 94, one member shall represent the emeriti faculty, and 19 members shall represent the student body. With the exception of emeritus and ex-officio representatives, senators shall be full-time faculty or students selected in accordance with the Rules of the University Senate. The one elected emeritus faculty member shall represent the University of Kentucky Association of Emeriti Faculty.

In even numbered academic years, the <u>ex officio</u> voting members of the Senate shall be composed of the following: Provost, Vice President for Research, Senior Vice President and Chancellor of the Medical Center, Director of Libraries, Director of Teaching Learning Center and Deans of the Colleges of Allied Health Professions, Architecture, Communications and Information Studies, Dentistry, Education, Engineering, Law, and Social Work. In odd numbered academic years, the <u>ex officio</u> voting members shall be the following: Provost, President of the Lexington Community College, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs for the Medical Center, Dean of the Graduate School, Dean of Undergraduate Studies and Deans of the Colleges of Agriculture, Arts and Sciences, Business and Economics, Fine Arts, Human Environmental Sciences, Medicine, Nursing, and Pharmacy.

The <u>ex officio</u> non-voting membership shall include the President, all other vice presidents, Associate Provost for Minority Affairs, University System Registrar, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education for the Lexington Campus and Director of Admissions, Dean of University Extension, Dean of Students, Professor of Military Science, Professor of Aerospace Studies, Director of the University Studies Program, and, if they are not already elected members of the Senate, the University System faculty members of the Board of Trustees, the Academic Ombud, the Director of the Honors Program, and the chairpersons of the University Senate Committees, including University Senate Advisory Committees. All officials mentioned in the preceding paragraph who are not <u>ex officio</u> voting members in any year shall be considered <u>ex officio</u> non-voting members. Other <u>ex officio</u> non-voting members may be added by the University Senate Council for the purpose of supplying information and viewpoints on problems considered by the Senate. <u>Ex officio</u> non-voting members shall enjoy all privileges of the elected membership except the right to vote.

The Senate is authorized to develop rules for the conduct of its functions, copies of these rules being furnished to the President and the Board of Trustees. It may perform its functions directly, through the Senate Council*, through standing or special committees which it may appoint or

Governing Regulations 1/22/02 Page IV-2

authorize for appointment, or through delegation of authority and responsibility to the faculties of the Graduate School or the colleges. Standing committees of the Senate, responsible to the

* Members of the Senate Council will remain members of the Senate until the end of their terms on the Council. They will not be counted as a part of the quota of the administrative unit that they have represented nor of the maximum membership of the Senate after the expiration of their elected memberships.

Senate, shall be appointed by the Senate Council unless other methods of appointment have been authorized by the Senate.

The Senate also may establish Senate advisory committees which shall be responsible, in an advisory capacity, to the President or other administrative officer(s) or administrative unit(s). These committees also shall be responsible to the Senate for reporting upon issues which bear upon the functions of the Senate and for making recommendations for action. Senate advisory committees shall be appointed by the President from nominations made by the Senate Council or following consultation with the Council.

The President shall be the chairperson of the Senate and shall be the presiding officer except as the President may delegate this function. The University Registrar shall serve as <u>ex officio</u> secretary. A member of the University faculty (not necessarily a member of the Senate), appointed by the Senate Council, shall serve as parliamentarian. The two sergeants-at-arms, appointed by the Senate Council, shall be members of the University System faculty and/or staff.

The Senate shall hold regular monthly meetings during the academic year when classes are in session and, after adequate notice by its secretary, special meetings on the call of the President or the Senate Council or on the written request of ten (10) members.

Any member of the administrative, instructional, or research staff may attend a meeting of the Senate as a visitor and request the privilege of the floor.

The functions of the University Senate shall include the following:

Determine the broad academic policies of the University System and make regulations to implement these policies.

Approve all new academic programs, curricula, and courses offered in the University System.

Adopt policies for the University System academic calendar and approve the annual calendar as prepared by the University Registrar.

Recommend to the Provost on the establishment, alteration, and abolition of educational units in the University System.

Advise the President or the President's designated officer on the planning for physical facilities and staff when these may affect the attainment of education objectives of the University System.

Advise the President or the President's designated officer, through appropriate committees, on criteria for appointments, reappointments, promotions, and granting of tenure in the University System.

Determine the conditions for admission and for degrees, other than honorary degrees, in the University System.

Recommend to the President all candidates for degrees in the University System.

Beyond those listed in the above, the Senate shall have no management or administrative functions either in itself or through the instrumentality of its committees.

The University Senate may address the President or, through the President, the Board of Trustees, regarding any University matter.