Dr. Lee T. Todd, Jr., President The University of Kentucky 101 Gillis Bldg. Campus 0033

Dear President Todd:

As Chair of the University Senate's Rules and Elections Committee, I oversee the election for faculty members of the Board of Trustees. On Monday, February ^{3rd}, the committee opened the computer vote count for the faculty member who will full out the term of Claire Pomeroy (whose term expires on June 30, 2004).

Seven faculty members were nominated pursuant to Senate Rule 1.5.2, which governs the election process. On the first ballot, they received the following number of votes: Fred DeBeer of Medicine (227); Glenn Collins of Agriculture (216), Boyd Haley of Arts & Sciences (78); Davy Jones of the Graduate School (236); Roy Moore of Communications and Information Science (94); John Pecoro of Pharmacy (31); and Ernest Yanarella of Arts & Sciences (110). This was a total of 992 votes. No candidate received a majority. Professors DeBeer, Collins and Jones were the three candidates with the highest number of votes and went to the second round of balloting.

The result of the second round was as follows: (Under the rule, if no candidate received a majority, the second choice votes of the one placing third are redistributed to the first and second place candidates.)

Candidate	First Choice	Second Choice	First and Second Choice
			<u>Combined</u>
DeBeer	148		
Collins	257	66	323
Jones	346	36	382
Total Valid Ballots	751		705

President Todd, p. 2 February 4, 2003

Re: Faculty Member Elected to the Board

I hereby certify that Dr. Davy Jones was duly elected to the Board of Trustees for the above stated term. I ask that you inform the Board of Trustees of his election.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Bradley C. Canon Chair, Rules and Elections Committee

cc: Dr. Jeff Dembo, Chair of the Senate Council

Dr. Davy Jones Dr. Glenn Collins Dr. Fred DeBeer